Healthier Fish ‘n Chips

I love fish. It can be prepared so many ways and contains so many important nutrients including omega-3s which can help keep your heart healthy and reduce the risk for stroke and arthritis.

Breaded fish

Breaded fish

This was the first time that I ever cooked fish, so I didn’t want to do something too difficult. Still, I bought fish at the farmers’ market and cut it into small slivers. In other bowls, I filled one with egg whites and the other with whole wheat panko breadcrumbs. Similarly to the breaded chicken for my General Tso’s chicken, I dipped the fish into the egg whites and then made sure to thoroughly coat all sides of the fish. Then I laid them out on a lightly greased pan. Once I had repeated these steps about 8 times, I put the fish into the oven at 450 degrees for 12 minutes.

Potato chunks

Potato chunks

As the fish was cooking, I cut up potatoes into small chunks. I lightly sprayed them with olive oil. Once the fish was done, I cooked the potatoes for about 20 minutes.

I added some carrots and some parsley. I cut up a lemon to give the fish a bit more flavor.

I am very happy with how this meal came out. In all honesty, this is probably one of my more successful meals, and definitely something that I can do all on my own.

Yum!

Yum!

Grades:

Health: A-. Overall really good, but potatoes are full of carbohydrates and could be substituted with lower carb Popchips, or another healthier chip alternative.

Taste: A. One of the best meals I’ve made so far.

Cost: B+. Fish is pretty expensive, but everything else is pretty cheap. Not too bad.

Overall: A-. Really enjoyed making and eating this. As did my mother.

 

Leave a Reply

