Chicken Stir Fry

As stated in my last post, this week I am going to be focusing on East Asian cuisine. I started this week by making a chicken stir fry. I looked at recipes, and ultimately made up my own recipe.

My recipe is as follows:

2 carrots

1/2 cup of broccoli

1/2 cup of peppers (yellow/orange/red/green, your choice)

1/3 cup of cucumber

4 oz of chicken (rough estimate)

1/3 cup of onions

Ginger

pepper

1/2 tablespoon soy sauce (less if that’s what you prefer)

 

I started by cutting up all my vegetables. I sliced my carrots, cucumber, onion and cut up my broccoli and peppers. Then I sliced my chicken into thin, but not too thin slices. I first added the carrots, broccoli, and onions to the work, because they take the longest to cook. This is my first time using a wok, and wow it’s really amazing, but more on that later. Then I added the chicken. Next was the cucmber and peppers. And finally the ginger. I let it cook until the chicken looked thoroughly cooked, constantly stirring. Lastly I added the pepper and soy sauce, but I used less than 1/2 tablespoon because I didn’t want it to be too salty.

Cooking

Cooking

 

Attempting to flip

Attempting to flip

 

The dish came out great! I completely made this dish on my own and it turned out awesome! I cooked up a bit of brown rice and placed my stir fry on top of it in a bowl. I still have to work on my flipping skills. While I really enjoyed using this stir fry pan, it was a bit too heavy to flip.

 

 

 

 

 

Grades:

Health: A. The chicken is a great source of protein and it is full of veggies. The only thing to watch out for is the salt, but just don’t use too much soy sauce

Taste: B+. It’s a bit bland. Next time I add more spices to make it a bit more lively.

Price: A-. Surprisingly, the vegetables were not too expensive, but unfortunately most of them are not in season, so I could not buy them at the farmer’s market. Still, I can make multiple servings and with the amount of vegetables I purchased, I can probably make at least 6 portions.

Overall: A. This is a great dish, and can have as many or a few vegetables as you like. Try it out for yourself and maybe try it with some different sauces!

Finished dish. Stir fry over rice

Finished dish. Stir fry over rice

 

Leave a Reply

