Apple Cinnamon Muffins

After my success with my crepes, I decided that I wanted to make something that I could bring in to school on Wednesday. Many breakfast foods such as crepes, french toast, and waffles do not travel well. I tried to think of something healthy that I could bring to school, and I came to the conclusion of muffins. I found a recipe for apple cinnamon muffins that looked healthy and decided to give it a try. When I went to the farmers’ market on Monday, I picked up fresh granny smith apples. The apples for these apple cinnamon muffins were a key part of the taste.

IMG_2123

Granny Smith apples

Even though the end product was a bit tasteless, the apples were definitely something that stuck out. I purchased my apples at the Union Square farmers’ market on Tuesday. They came from Healthway Farms in souther Ulster County, New York.

After purchasing the apples, I made a trip to Whole Foods to get whole wheat pastry flour. This is something that I had never used before. According to this site, pastry flour

Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

has a lower protein content, and thus the texture of the product will be more tender than when using all purpose flour. I don’t know if it really made a difference, and maybe in the future I would try this recipe again with all purpose white flour. One of the notes I got from one of my taste testers was that the muffins tasted like whole wheat.

After purchasing all my ingredients at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and the Farmers’ Market, I got cookin’.  I followed her recipe.

IMG_2124

Dry mixture

I started by combining the flour, baking soda, and cinnamon. Then I chopped and peeled my apples and added them to the same bowl.

In a separate bowl, I mixed together eggs whites, honey, milk, apple sauce and honey. While the recipe called for almond milk, I used dairy milk because I was thinking about bringing these muffins into school and my school has a no nut policy. Then I mixed the dry mixture into the wet mixture and stirred. The batter smelled very much like apples and cinnamon.

IMG_2130

Pouring the batter

Then I set up my liners in my tray and began to pour the batter in. For the sake of my kitchen and my mother (hi mom!), I tried to keep my kitchen as neat as possible, but it did get a little messy when I was pouring the batter. One of the skills I am trying to work on is keeping a clean work space, so hopefully in the future it will be even cleaner.

The recipe yielded 16 muffins, but I was able to make 22! Maybe I didn’t put enough batter into each muffin. I put the muffins into the oven for 15 minutes and waited. I used a toothpick to test if they were done. The toothpick came up clean, so I took them out and waited for them to cool. After about 5 minutes, I took my first bite. To be blunt, they were tasteless. I gave some to my neighbors to taste test and they also said they were tasteless. It’s strange because they weren’t even dry, they just did not have any distinct flavor. My mother commented that they didn’t seem sweet enough, which was surprising considering the amount (1/2 cup) of honey that I used. I was disappointed to say the least, but I hope in the future I will try again. Because as I mentioned, this recipe made 22 muffins, I still have about a dozen left. My family-friend had the idea to add a filling or a frosting. One of my favorite bakeries, Molly’s Cupcakes fills their cupcakes with delicious fillings. Today, I decided to try putting a dollop of yogurt on top. I think the yogurt definitely helped to enhance the flavor. I also like to think that it put my personal touch on top.

Leave a Reply

