The Beginning

I’ve watched my mom cook everyday. Sometimes it was just throwing a frozen pizza into the oven, but sometimes it was making a full homemade meal, such as brisket or fish with multiple sides. I’ve always relied on my mom to put nicely cooked food onto the table every night, but then it occurred to me that I would be going to college in a few months. When people think of eating in college, their minds often wander to ramen noodles and Easy Mac. I don’t want this to be the way that I eat in college.

That is why for this seven week project, I was dedicating myself to learning how to cook. I want to focus on creating healthy food alternatives for some of the best comfort foods, as well as staples in every college students’ lives. In this blog, I will be documenting the process. This will include the videos that I am watching and the books that I am reading. I will also be photographing my trips to various markets. I will explain where the ingredients are from and if I know how they were grown (local organic, non-GMO etc.)

At the end of this project, I want to create a physical cookbook of my favorite/best recipes that I create.

Leave a Reply

